Conradin Brotbek / Wolfgang Boettcher

Masterclass for Cello | 17. – 31.08.2019

Course fee: 660 €

Conradin Brotbek | © Daniel Drieß
Conradin Brotbek | © Daniel Drieß

This year, the masterclass for cello will be held by Professors Conradin Brotbek and Wolfgang Boettcher. If possible, all students will receive lessons from both professors.


Conradin Brotbek was born in Biel in 1960. Since 1987 he teaches at the Bern University of Arts violoncello and a chamber music class and since 2001 at the International Summer Academy Lenk. In 2007 he was appointed Professor of Violoncello at the State University of Music and Performing Arts in Stuttgart.

Conradin Brotbek plays the Joseph filius Andrea Guarnerius-Cello “ex Jules Delsar, André Levy” from the year 1700 and is cellist of the Aria Quartet Basel. As a chamber musician and soloist, he performs at many important festivals and music centers in the world. Concert tours took Conradin Brotbek through Europe, the Near and Far East, Australia, China and the USA.

Numerous radio and television recordings as well as record and CD recordings (ECM, Novalis, Pan Classics, Derecha, etc.) document his artistic work.

Conradin Brotbek studied with Stanislav Apolin and Marek Jerie at the Lucerne Academy of Music, where he received his soloist diploma in 1985 and was awarded the Edwin Fischer Memorial Prize by the City of Lucerne. This was followed by further studies with Pierre Fournier in Geneva, with Janos Starker in Vienna and with Jacqueline du Pré and Wiliam Pleeth in London. He received lasting impetus from the LaSalle Quartet, Amadeus Quartet and Franco Rossi (Quartetto Italiano).

Conradin Brotbek also works as a composer and lives in Basel.


Wolfgang Boettcher began his international career after winning the renowned ARD International Music Competition in Munich. Until 1976 he was a solo cellist with the Berliner Philharmoniker. He was the founder and member of several renowned ensembles – the Twelve Cellists of the Berliner Philharmoniker, the soloists of the Philharmoniker and the Brandis Quartet. He gave up his position with the orchestra to focus on solo performances and his work as a teacher at the University of the Arts in Berlin. His recordings as a cellist were among others published by labels such as Deutsche Grammophon, EMI and Nimbus.

In 1988 he became a member of the Bavarian Academy of Fine Arts.

His students include Jan Diesselhorst, who was also a member of the ensemble The 12 Cellists, Wen-Sinn Yang and Dietmar Schwalke.

Conradin Brotbek / Wolfgang Boettcher

Meisterkurs für Cello | 17. – 31.08.2019

Kurskosten: 660 €

Conradin Brotbek | © Daniel Drieß
Conradin Brotbek | © Daniel Drieß

Der Meisterkurs für Cello wird in diesem Jahr gemeinsam von den Professoren Conradin Brotbek und Wolfgang Boettcher gegeben. Alle Studenten erhalten nach Möglichkeit Unterricht bei beiden Professoren.  


Conradin Brotbek wurde 1960 in Biel geboren. Seit 1987 unterrichtet er an der Hochschule der Künste Bern eine Konzert- und Solistenklasse für Violoncello und eine Kammermusikklasse und seit 2001 an der Internationale Sommer-Akademie Lenk. 2007 wurde er als Professor für Violoncello an die Staatliche Hochschule für Musik und Darstellende Kunst in Stuttgart berufen.

Conradin Brotbek spielt das Joseph filius Andrea Guarnerius-Cello «ex Jules Delsar, André Levy» aus dem Jahre 1700 und ist Violoncellist des Aria Quartetts Basel. Als Kammermusiker und Solist konzertiert er an vielen wichtigen Festivals und Musikzentren der Welt. Konzertreisen führten Conradin Brotbek durch Europa, den Nahen und Fernen Osten, Australien, China und die USA.

Zahlreiche Radio- und Fernsehaufnahmen sowie Schallplatten- und CD-Einspielungen (ECM, Novalis, Pan Classics, Derecha u.a.) dokumentieren seine künstlerische Arbeit.

Conradin Brotbek studierte unter anderem bei Stanislav Apolin und Marek Jerie an der Musikhochschule Luzern, wo er 1985 das Solistendiplom erlangte und ihm der Edwin-Fischer-Gedenkpreis der Stadt Luzern verliehen wurde. Es folgten weitere Studien bei Pierre Fournier in Genf, bei Janos Starker in Wien und bei Jacqueline du Pré und Wiliam Pleeth in London. Nachhaltige Impulse erhielt er durch das LaSalle Quartett, Amadeus Quartett und Franco Rossi (Quartetto Italiano).

Conradin Brotbek ist auch als Komponist tätig und lebt in Basel.


Seine internationale Karriere begann Wolfgang Boettcher nach dem Gewinn des renommierten Internationalen Musikwettbewerbs der ARD in München. Bis 1976 war er Solo-Cellist bei den Berliner Philharmonikern. Er war Gründer und Mitglied mehrerer renommierter Ensembles – der Zwölf Cellisten der Berliner Philharmoniker, der Solisten der Philharmoniker und des Brandis Quartetts. Er gab seine Position beim Orchester auf, um sich auf Soloauftritte und seine Arbeit als Pädagoge an der Universität der Künste zu konzentrieren. Seine Aufnahmen als Cellist wurden unter anderem bei Labels wie Deutsche Grammophon, EMI und Nimbus veröffentlicht.

1988 wurde er Mitglied der Bayerischen Akademie der Schönen Künste. 

Zu seinen Schülern zählen Jan Diesselhorst, der ebenfalls Mitglied des Ensembles Die 12 Cellisten war, Wen-Sinn Yang und Dietmar Schwalke.